Aguascalientes is the capital city of the state of Aguascalientes and the head of the municipality of the same name. This is a city full of innovation and entrepreneurial with extraordinary growth potential. It still retains its colonial flavor and tranquility of a of safe, healthy and city stimulating with more than 425 years of history that maintains its colonial buildings.
Visitors will find charming and old farms, rich architectural heritage, historic temples, beautiful landscapes, rich cultural offerings, spas and other major developed tourist offers worldwide.
The October 22, 1575 Juan de Montoro by order of King Felipe II, establishes the town of Aguascalientes, originally named as San Marcos. As of June 2, 1875 it was called "Villa of Our Lady of the Assumption of Aguascalientes", later changing the name to Aguascalientes.
In the very act of its lifting, the Villa de San Marcos (Aguascalientes) it was awarded the jurisdiction of greater mayor under the Kingdom of New Galicia, and as of December 4, 1786 on the occasion of the issuance of the "Ordinance mayors", it became quartermaster sub-delegation.
The April 24, 1789, by order of the Superior Board of Real Property, the sub-delegation of Aguascalientes fell under Zacatecas.
Although no exact date when Aguascalientes formally separated the territory of Zacatecas is known. By Federal Decree of General Antonio Lopez de Santa Anna dated May 23, 1835, in its third article, orders Aguascalientes to continue separated from the territory of Zacatecas without giving any specific category to the territory, falling the appointment of political leader, Pedro Garcia Rojas. In this regard, we should mention that the decree was not formalized as the legal requirements for this purpose, since it was necessary for the two thirds of both chambers of Deputies and Senators approved the decree, in addition to that required two-thirds of the state legislatures approved also not fulfilled the second requirement, since constituent congress was convened to develop the centralist constitution which later became known as the Seven Laws, constitution did not recognize Aguascalientes the title of department, since it is noteworthy that the states were eliminated along with the federal regime, replacing them with Departments, which continued to belong to Zacatecas, which can be seen as local constitution of Zacatecas in 1825 that contemplated Aguascalientes as part of that State.
It is the general José Mariano Salas, who on August 5, 1846, decides to restore federalism, convening a constituent congress that declared valid the constitution of 1824, but still not considered Aguascalientes as state. Subsequently, on May 18, 1847 is approving the act to the reforms to the constitution of 1824 but doesn´t grant Aguascalientes the title of State, which led to a war between Aguascalientes and Zacatecas, consequently resulting in Zacatecas became a the strength of the parties, now municipalities of Calvillo and Rincon de Romos.
In July 1848 Aguascalientes accepts to annex peacefully from Zacatecas. It is until December 10, 1853 that Lopez de Santa Anna, in exercise of his extraordinary powers, issued a decree declaring Aguascalientes as a Department as the basis for it decrees of December 30, 1836 and June 30, 1838, without ever referring to 23 March 1835. Finally, in the draft that would be the constitution of 1857 that was filed on June 16, 1856, it is included to Aguascalientes as a state in Article 43, approving unanimously of the 79 deputies present the survival of the State of Aguascalientes. The December 10, 1856 and entered into force this constitution on September 16, 1857.
It is located in the north center of the country. It is a small state with an area of 5,471 square kilometers southeast of the state of Zacatecas with which it has more than half of its boundaries, and north of the state of Jalisco.
The annual temperature is 18 ° C, the minimum temperature recorded is 4 ° C in January and the highest is 30 ° C or more in the months of May and June; annual precipitation is 500 mm with rains in the summer starting in late June and ending in late September.
The climate of the region is tempered semi-dry in 62% of the surface, semi-warm temperate semi-humid and 25%.
The main economic activity in Aguascalientes is the industry, followed by livestock and commercial. Presently, the automotive industry has been growing in the country; here Nissan's has two factories producing over half a million cars a year. Its developed infrastructure also benefits the economy due to the fact that the state has important roads that link the state with the most important economic areas in Mexico.
All the states of Mexico have their own costumes making it different from other countries. Aguascalientes is no exception with one of the most beautiful and colorful costumes.
Woman costume consists of blouse with high collar, wide at the ends and at the bottom adjusted basis sleeves and waist belted at the waist. The skirt has embroidery the garden San Marcos; on the sides, a cockfight and some grapes. The bottom of the dress has a frayed withdrawal. Complement is a white shawl, also frayed.
Men’s costume is based on the work and consists of denim overalls plaid shirt and as a head piece a bandana with straw hat this dress alludes to the railroad.
Aguascalientes cuisine has many dishes from all over the country to offer its visitor’s delicious dishes and fine wines from its own production.
Some of the dishes that you cannot miss are:
Lamb broth with meat sauce seasoned with spices and chiles.
Chile sauce made with guava and peach filling.
Sweet made from guava.
Beverage produced from grapes, mead, mint, lemon and vodka.
Processed corn dough and baked potato.
Made cracked corn dough (savory and sweet).
•Aguascalientes style mole
There are different flavors of pineapple, pine and walnut.
In colonial times it was known as Valley Huajúcar which means "Place of Willows". This place lived the first settlers of Spanish, Creole and mestizo.
Calvillo was named in 1778 in honor of its founder Jose Calvillo, who donated the land for the settlement of this town. Its main business of this region is the production of guava.
Here you can visit the House of Culture, Church of the Lord Salitre, Parian, City Hall and take a tour to the Hacienda del Sauz and Finance Vaquerías or Gaztambide. Besides being able to enjoy many activities such as mountain biking, rappelling, among others.
Real se Asientos:
It is an ancient place whose origin dates back to 1548 which highlights its colonial buildings; some of these are: the main parish, Casa Larrañaga, the Shrine of Our Lady of Guadalupe, the House of Mining and streets that hide historical and cultural treasures.
Other places you can visit are the underground aqueducts, Pinacoteca of the Parish of Our Lady of Bethlehem in which you will find a valuable collection of altarpieces representing the Via Crucis, Alameda Rangel, the Camino Real de la Plata, the Chapel Holy Cross Cemetery Guadalupe, among others; also enjoy their delicious dishes like the Chichimeca rabbit, chopped gorditas, sweet milk and guava as well as activities such as climbing, camping, rappelling, hiking, horseback riding, mountain biking, fishing.
Feria de San Marcos:
Held annually in mid-April to mid-May beginning its tradition since 1828 when it was called "Feria de Dolores" then in 1851 moved to the Garden of San Marcos, taking hence its current name.
Feria de San Marcos is one of the most important and recognized national and international fairs which highlights cultural and sporting events, trade and industrial exhibitions, casino, etc.
Festival of Skulls:
Held annually the last week of October and the first week of November in honor of the teacher, caricaturist and printmaker Jose Guadalupe Posada who created the image of the famous Catrina.
The celebration is dedicated to the death in which an exhibition of candy and clay skulls of all shapes and sizes is presented, in which many names are written to make a satire about death, in addition to rides, food stalls seasonal fruits and snacks.
Fair od Señor de Encino:
Held every year from 4 to 14 November in the Garden of Lord of Encino to worship the Dark Christ, located inside the Church of Encino maintaining its Baroque façade. It's a party surrounded by popular entertainment and excitement of its inhabitants.
This fair is celebrated for 57 years or more. It`s held in the first two weeks of December. Local residents and visiting tourists are involved in the celebration.
At the fair a number of traditional shows, activities, bullfights, exhibitions, etc. are presented.
Feast of the Lord of Sorrows:
Also called the Fair of Rincon de Romos which is held the third Sunday of January in honor of the Lord of the Sorrows. The festival begins with the descent of the Lord to celebrate with pilgrimages where the streets are adorned in red and white besides presenting exhibitions of plastic arts workshop, dance, rides, snacks, toys, food and music in the main square.
The Pilgrimage of Our Lady of the Assumption :
Their tradition began in 1741 decreed by Dr. Don Juan Gomez. It is held from 1 to 15th of August, with pilgrimages and masses, during there days fruits produced of the region is showcased, sweets made with those fruits, table wines, parade floats, etc.
Places of interest
Contemporary Art Museum:
Opened on April 14, 1991 after partial fire in the early 70's. By visiting this museum you will know why a number 8 was assigned to the building, chosen by J. Jesus Rabago, born on 8 of August 1888.
This museum has a permanent room dedicated to Enrique Guzman Villagomez, artist of an original family of Aguascalientes, five showrooms to display the collection of the National Meeting of Young Art, in addition to temporary exhibitions by renowned artists, guided tours, retail public of books and magazines, in addition to plastic children's workshops, educational workshop, multipurpose room, library and museum shop.
J. Guadalupe Posada Museum:
Opened in 1972 being this the first art museum to honor the aguascalentense engraver Jose Guadalupe Posada. Exhibits a large collection of his work in a permanent room in addition to admire the works of more artists who have excelled in this discipline like Tamayo Jose Fords, among others.
Regional Museum of History:
It was established in an old house in 1914 at the hands of Refugio Reyes. The museum has seven rooms where you can find everything from fossil remains that have been discovered in the town to exhibitions concerning the arrival of the Americans, the rise of haciendas, pre-Hispanic cultures and local indigenous communities.
Museum of Aguascalientes:
Refugio Reyes Rivas built this museum in 1993 in a neoclassical style. It has permanent exhibitions in which you'll find prints from Saturnino Herrán, recognized as the most Mexican of the painters and the most painter of the Mexicans, Gabriel Fernandez Ledesma paintings and prints by Francisco Diaz de Leon; besides the production of Master Jesus F. Contreras.
Interactive Museum of Science and Technology Discover:
Inaugurated on 20 November 1996. The museum was created with the aim of enhancing awareness of science and technology among people who visit it, that is through activities and interactive programs for people of all ages but especially children who are the protagonists because they are part of the stories and games that make up the museum as it awakens the interest to know all that surrounds us.
Cathedral Basilica of Our Lady of the Assumption:
Built 1704 by Father Antonio Flores Acevedo and finalized by the priest Manuel Larreátegui Columbus in 1738; with a main entrance built in the New World Baroque style quarry, located opposite the Plaza de la Patria. Inside are carved wooden stalls and painting of San Juan Nepomuceno, the nave where the pulpit with sounding board, the choir with its tubular timber body, and especially the beautiful cypress white marble where you´ll find the image of the Virgin of the Assumption.
Manuel Alejandro Gonzalez Marquez inaugurated this museum in 2001 on the site where stood a station in 1911. Here you can learn about the generations of history, contribution and knowledge of the railroad. It has six rooms that exhibit more than three thousand pieces among which include: flat stations, paintings, sculptures, photographs, recreations of workshops, old photos etc.
Museum of Death:
Until 1866 it was retained as a cemetery and in 1977 was inaugurated as a museum. Where you can meet the diverse artistic expressions of his peculiar guest: the theme around death since pre-Hispanic times to the present day that huses a collection of pieces which total more than 2,000 items related to the death. - Sacred Art - Contemporary handicrafts- Plastic and Graphic Funeral Tradition in Mesoamerica: Throughout its seven exhibition rooms housed in two buildings the following topics.